Actually I wrote the first posting about a month and a half ago and just never started the blog. Since then I’ve been working hard trying to make enough money to actually do the trip. The cost of things seems to jump from one day to the next. I’ve bought a tent, a Nemo Obi 2 that is made right here in New Hampshire (that’s cool) and is super light. It is supposed to sleep two but I can assure you there is no way, no how that someone else will be able to fit in it with me. I guess they measure really skinny people to make the sleeping number claim. I’ve also purchased a pack, a Granite Gear Crown 60; I know it really doesn’t matter to most people what kind of pack I have, but a few might. It’s super light as well and I think it will work just fine. A new sleeping bag, hiking shoes, a set of clothes and all kinds of little gadgets and things to make the trip do-able.

Oh, how could I forget, I’ve been dieting since the 3rd of January…. I will not bore you with the details, let’s just say it’s going good and I’m happy with the loss. I do have to say that being on the diet has cut some of my favorite foods and drink out of reach. The diet will end a week or so before the trip so I can party with friends and family.

I’ve been asked why I gave myself a new name. Well if you walk the Appalachian Trail you get a trail name. You can pick it out yourself or if you don’t the other hikers surely will. Now to avoid getting some name that is unflattering I figured that a name of my chousing would be better, so I picked the name “Gray Loon”. Actually a good friend picked it for me and I love it. The reason for Gray Loon is I’m defiantly going or have gone gray and I spend my winters working at a great place, Loon Mountain, a ski resort in the heart of the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire. Loon Mountain has some of the best people in the world that work there and many of them friends that will have to listen to all my wild adventures over and over. Lets just hope there are a few wild stories to tell. I’m not sure if you can tell, but I’m getting really excited about going and the counting of days is something I haven’t done in fifty or so years, waiting on Christmas morning.