What an amazing adventure so far. I started in a mist that turned into a really big thunderstorm. That first morning I started walking 2 hours before the sun cam up so I walked with my head lamp. A very good day. I have learned a lot about how to make things do and how to keep warm in a sleeping bag that is not warm enough. I’m so glad I got a piece of fleece and the last cold night it dawned on me that I could heat up a bottle of water and toss it into the bottom of my sleeping bag and it will keep my feet warm for about 5 hours. Yesterday as I was making my way to Dicks Gap (11 miles car ride to Hiawassee, GA) the ground was frozen, snow covered, and very slipery above 2000 feet. Under 2000 feet it turned into a black mud pudding. I also found out why turtles don’t like to be flipped onto their backs. It’s damn dificult to turn over and stand up again. now for a list of booboos. 2 bad blisters on my left little toe that has gone to a bloody mess… so some work is needed to put that back right. also a poped blister on my hand where the trecking pole strap rubs on my thumb. Lots of hot spots on my feet so it’s good to stop and air them out a little. No snakes so far… to damn cold for them to come out of their holes. Walked in blowing snow yesterday morning (3 days of snow flurries) wondering where I was and if I could make it to the main road. and all of a sudden the sun came out in a grove of rodadendrons.(sp). It was beautiful all dappled sunlight and about a hundred Junkos (little gray birds with round white bellies) it was really a beautiful sight. I have to say that this is surely the most difficult thing physically I’ve ever done. It also leaves you time to think about things in detail. I’ve solved a few problems with a story I’ve been writing nothing on paper though. If nothing else there is lots of time to think. Thank you all for your support and good wishes … it really does and has helped. I will be in Franklin hopefully by Sunday, but time has no meaning and it’s hard to know what day it is after a few days in the woods. I know this is where I want to be and need to be, so I shall continue onward and upward with a whistle to the wind and a skip in my step. “If you believe you can your half way there” T. Roosevelt