Everyone seems to think I should be getting nervous about going on my adventure, as if I’m going to have a second thought and change my mind about going. I’m committed, maybe certifiably, but committed none the less. As a matter of fact my departure date has changed and therefore my hike date has changed as well. The train ride south to Georgia will be on Sunday March 17th (St. Patties Day) and arrive on the 18th. Sometime on Monday afternoon I will give Mom and Katie a kiss and hug; turn towards the trail then fade into the mist. Now that has the making of a great movie beginning doesn’t it? The best part is I get to leave three days earlier and will be missing the rush of weekend thru hiker starts. In March close to 1,500 hopeful thru-hikers will start their adventure. The total that start the trip is somewhere around 3,000 with between 15 and 20 percent finishing.
I’ve given it a lot of thought as to what I’ll write about along the way. I’m sure I will see some amazing sights, beautiful vista, breathtaking waterfalls, and nature at its best….and worst. The recording of these sights will be good, however I’m feeling my story will have a lot to do with meeting the wide variety of people (hikers and town folk) along the way and give ear to their stories and maybe repeat a few here.
Oh, a bit of a correction or maybe and expansion on my last post that referred to Katie as my boss, which she is, however, she is by far a lot more that that. Most people gain family through either blood or marriage, they being a brother, sister, daughter, mother, wife and so forth, but every once in a while someone enters your life and heart and becomes family in other ways. Katie along with husband, Brian and son, Grant have done just that. So yes, Katie is my boss, but also a very dear friend and someone I consider very much part of my family. Thanks Katie…. Oh, and thanks Brian and Grant for letting her go to see me off on my grand adventure.